分析聚合物和塑料

  • Connect

质量控制

验证原材料和产品的化学成分

ALPHA 傅立叶变换红外光谱仪

快速、可靠、被广泛应用的进料成分控制

控制质量,提高成本效益

很多产品都会用到塑料,如:汽车部件、包装材料、居家用品、电子设备或纺织品等。今天的很多塑料都是用不同的聚合物、填充料和添加剂等各种化合物生产的复合型多组份体系。有系统地选择和混合相关混合物中的这些成分可以优化材料的特性。

低价、高品质是现代工业的基本要求,因此,必须进行可靠的质量控制。核实来料是让制造工艺无缺陷、不浪费的基本措施。之后,必须确认最终塑料制品中的成分是否正确,以确保其具备适当的特性。

利用 ALPHA 快速、可靠地确认产品的化学成分是否正确。

确认来料是哪种化学物质

对来料进行身份验证:
要验证来料是否正确,需测量其红外光谱,并将其与参照材料的光谱相比较。如果样品的光谱与相同材料的参照光谱之间的相关性强,则说明来料是正确的。

阅读通过红外光谱技术确认聚合物样品的应用指南。
阅读确认O型环/深色橡胶的应用指南。

划分聚合物类型

区别聚酰胺:
聚酰胺是热塑性聚合物,由酰胺键所结合的单体组成。聚酰胺根包含化学性质和物理性质不同的多种聚合物。尽管其化学结构非常相似,通过红外光谱法我们还是可以将 PA6、PA6.6、PA10 和 PA12 IR 等不同的聚酰胺区分开来。

区别高密度聚乙烯和低密度聚乙烯:
聚乙烯(PE)是世界上产量最大的聚合物。高密度聚乙烯被用于瓶子、盒子,而塑料膜和塑料袋则是用低密度聚乙烯生产的。红外光谱所包含的信息让我们能将低密度聚乙烯和高密度聚乙烯区分开来。

阅读通过红外光谱法对聚酰胺进行分类的应用指南。

量化填充料和添加剂

填充料、添加剂和混合物的量化:
现代塑料是用聚合物、填充料、增塑剂和增容剂制成的多组份体系。正确确定塑料的成分是控制质量的基本内容。红外光谱让我们可以根据刻度对各个组份进行量化。

阅读对聚合物填充料和增容剂进行红外光谱分析的应用指南。

确保你的产品被正确加工

控制亮光漆的固化:
现代油漆和亮光漆的材料属性主要受固化过程影响。傅立叶变换红外光谱法可以快速、可靠地测量油漆、亮光漆等的固化程度。不到一分钟就可以得出样品固化状态的量化结论。

控制金属材料上的涂层:
聚合物涂层被用于保护金属、陶瓷制品和其他材料的表面不被腐蚀。此外,相应的涂层决定了材料表面的特性,如:粗糙度、外观、粘合度。

通过红外分析法,我们可以确保各种表面覆盖了恰当的涂料。此外,还可确定涂层的均匀性。

阅读控制亮光漆固化程度的应用指南。

分析简单、快速

ALPHA-P 的测量界面是一个菱形的ATR水晶。其机械强度和化学强度使其不仅可以分析单体等反应液样品,还可分析聚碳酸酯等非常坚硬的塑料。ATR(衰减全反射)技术非常易用、便捷,因为几乎无需制备样品。不论分析是否必须在颗粒状物、薄膜、塑料部件、粉末或液体上进行:要记录红外光谱,只需让样品接触ATR水晶。

测量完成后,自动将光谱与参照材料的光谱数据相比较,确定样品。

点击放大

ALPHA 的用户界面非常友好,即使是没有受过训练的操作员,也能够验证未知样品是哪种物质。在软件的指导下,通过简单的几个步骤,用户就可完成测量、评估和报告。点击观看视频。

点击此处观看视频


更多信息

Copyright 2015 Bruker Optik GmbH

Analysis of Polymers and Plastics

  • Connect

Quality Control

Verify the chemical identity of raw materials and products.

ALPHA II FTIR Spectrometer

Quick, reliable and universally applicable identity control of incoming raw materials.

Quality Control for Cost-Efficiency

Plastics are used in countless products such as automotive parts, packaging materials, home appliance, electric devices or textiles. Many of today’s plastics are complex multi component systems made from various compounds like different polymers, fillers and additives. The systematic selection and blending of these constituents in appropriate mixtures results in materials with optimized properties.

As a high product quality at low price is a basic requirement in modern industry, reliable quality control is mandatory. An essential step for a trouble-free manufacturing process without waste is to verify the correct identity of the incoming raw materials. Later on the correct composition in the final plastic product has to be checked to ensure the right properties.

Using the ALPHA II a quick and reliable check of the correct chemical composition of the product is performed.

Verify the chemical identity of incoming goods

Identity verification of incoming raw materials:
To verify the correct identity of an incoming material an IR-spectrum is measured and compared against spectra from reference materials. A high correlation of the sample spectrum with the reference spectrum of the same material confirms the correct identity.

Read application note about IR spectroscopic identity verification of polymer samples.
Read application note about identification of o-rings / (dark) rubbers.

Differentiate polymer types

Differentiation of polyamides:
Polyamides are thermoplastic polymers consisting of monomers joined by an amide bond. The polyamide group includes many different polymers with different chemical and physical properties. Despite a high similarity in their chemical structure IR spectroscopy allows to differentiate between various polyamides like PA6, PA6.6, PA10 and PA12.

Differentiation of HDPE and LDPE:
Polyethylene (PE) is the most produced polymer in the world. High density PE is used for bottles, boxes whereas plastic films and bags are made from low density PE. The IR-spectrum contains information that allows the differentiation of low density and high density PE.

Read application note about IR spectroscopic differentiation of polyamides.

Quantify fillers and additives

Quantification of fillers, additives and blends:
Modern plastics are multi component systems made from polymers, fillers, plasticizers and compatibilizers. To determine the correct composition is an essential part of the quality control. The IR-spectrum allows to quantify individual components on base of calibrations.

Read application note about IR spectroscopic analysis of polymer fillers and compatibilizers.

Control the correct processing of your product

Control of the curing of varnish:
The material properties of modern paints and varnishes are critically influenced by the curing process. FT-IR spectroscopy quickly and reliably allows to measure the degree of cure of paints, varnishes and the like. Within only a minute a quantitative conclusion about the curing state of the sample can be drawn.

Control of coatings on metallic materials:
Polymeric coatings are used to protect surfaces of metals, ceramics and other materials from corrosion. Furthermore the properties of surfaces can be defined by appropriate coatings, e.g. roughness, visual appearance, adhesiveness.

IR-analysis allows to control the presence of the correct coating material on various substrates. Furthermore the homogeneity of the coating can be determined.

Read application note about the control of the degree of vanish curing.

Simple and fast analysis

The measurement interface of the ALPHA II for polymer analysis is a diamond ATR crystal. Its mechanical and chemical robustness allows as well the analysis of reactive liquid samples like monomers as of very hard plastics like polycarbonate. The ATR (Attenuated Total Reflection) technique is very comfortable and fast as there is virtually no sample preparation required. No matter if the analysis has to be performed on pellets, films, plastic parts, powders or liquids: For recording the IR-spectrum the sample just has to be brought into contact with the ATR crystal.

After the measurement the sample is identified by automatic comparison of its spectrum against spectral data from reference materials.

click to enlarge

The ALPHA II’s user interface enables even untrained operators to verify the identity of a known sample or to identify unknown samples. Guided by the software the user performs measurement, evaluation and reporting in a few steps Click to see video.

click to see video


Further Information

© Copyright 2017 Bruker Optik GmbH